On the Brink of Awesomeness…


It has been a very hectic last few weeks, and my gaming time has been reduced to small chunks of time. To suit this current problem, I turned to see what was out-and-about on XBL. I stumbled over OUTLAND, a title I’d been interested in when it was first announced.

While fellow Vigilites have been playing and completing Portal 2 (as well as gushing over it), I’ve been delving in and out of Outland. I’m nearing the end of the 3rd world, and it’s been a fun game. The controls and visuals are both slick and well executed, level design and player progression is also well planned and present thus far. It’s a simple yet challenging action platformer.

Outland

Outland

The best way to describe Outland would be the melting pot results of boiling up Limbo, PoP and Ikaruga, yes, IKARUGA! It’s an interesting recipe that douses bullet hell situations within a platform game. Developed by the fine chaps at Housemarque (super stardust), the game is really well priced and a treat to play. I look forward to finishing this one up.

FOOTBALL…REAL FOOTBALL

MUFC

Ferguson's Red Army

Apart from videogames, I watched my footy team; Manchester United lift their 19th league title, surpassing their arch rivals Liverpool, which was sweet, sweet justice, to say the least. I’m currently sat here typing this and listening to the pre-match interviews and views on the Champion’s League final. Manchester United play Barcelona at Wembley. If I was still in England, I’d be at that game right now L Anyways, I’ll be cheering for them and hopefully, after 90mins, we’ll be lifting the cup again, for the 4th time, only 1 behind those pesky scousers.

Estimated number of viewers is 300 million, making it one the most watched events….EVER! I’m nervous and  excited as hell. I can’t wait.

http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=10150195774048503&oid=7724542745&comments

DARKSIDERS

On the work front, we’ve been hammering away and smoothing off the edges of Darksiders 2. The game is starting to show it’s colours now as the major components start to become fleshed out systems. It’s only a matter of time before the world gets to see what we’ve doing in our crazy lab in Austin, Texas.

SOTA have all but finished the War & Ruin statue. You can find images of the statue here War & Ruin images, plus, you can go pre-order one here: Pre-Order War & Ruin.  It has an rrp of $249 and will be available the last week of July.

Sample image below:

W&R

Badassary

E3

Talking of gaming, E3 is just around the corner. Between June 7th – 9th, the LA Convention centre hosts publishers, devs and manufactures from all around the world to ply their current and future wares. I wasn’t originally going to go, but the stars have aligned, and when that happens, so changes a person’s path.

It’s going to an exciting show. Battlefield 3 looks great, I really want to get my hands on this one. Activision recently showed their official MW3 trailer, which looked awesome too. Zelda: Skyward Sword, Unchartered 3, Ninja  Gaiden III, Bioshock: Infinite, Skyrim, Gears 3, Soulcalibur V and the games roll on. Nintendo will reveal details of their new Console, and presumably titles for it…so that’s going to be a great session to be at. I see Sony aren’t revealing details if LAST GUARDIAN is going to be there or not, that is a big disappointment for me. I was at E3 last year sniffing for anything on it, and was told it was only behind closed doors…SUCKS BALLS. If ever there was a title worth buying a Ps3 for, it’s that one.

Phew…so after all that, E3 is just around the corner, my team stands on the brink of lifting a 5th UEFA Champs cup and Darksiders 2 is shaping up to exceed the original in everyway….awesomeness is indeed just ahead of us.

About Haydn Dalton

Creative Lead 30 Years Developing Games

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a comment