Archive | Uncategorized RSS feed for this section

A Cell Of My Own

scribblenauts

I’ve finally settled on where I’ll be working next, and I’m very pleased to say, it’s with the fine people at 5th Cell, in Seattle. They’ve created a lot of cool titles already, and are working on damn fine products. I’m proud to say that I’ll be in the mix with them, in just a few short weeks.

So what was the biggest draw? It was the people, and the products they create. Meeting the founders and the leads from 5th Cell really made me a believer that it’s a place where peoples’ ideas are fostered and allowed to flourish. They want to create products that allow the player to be creative, and most importantly, have fun. Those two things are crucially important to me as I continue forward. It must also be said, that this has been one of the most exciting and eagerly anticipated moves of my career to date. And that’s saying something!

Looking elsewhere, I really do hope the ex-Vigil guys manage to get the Darksiders IP, it’d be nice to see it land back into the hands of some of its creators. Failing that, a good home where the developers truly understand and love the genre and game we created, would be appreciated…thank you. If all else fails, then I’ll pour a 40 out on my old x360 for it…

You can’t stop the waves, but you can learn to surf” – Jon Kabat-Zinn

That’s all I got for right now, as I’m in the middle of packing all our worldly possession up, ready for the move in a few days.

GO 5TH CELL!!!

Advertisements

God Speed!

Recent proceedings at Vigil & Relic have been well documented, and things such as this are never easy. Both companies have lost some serious talent, talent that others will benefit from.

So, in an attempt to aid those needing to find a new place, I thought I’d compile what I’ve found out there, from recruiters to people directly at companies.

Most of the information below was gathered from www.polycount.com (awesome site for artists), the rest was from linkedin & twitter.

I’m going to add to this page, as anything new comes up. Good luck everyone.

>> Vigil Games Work Fair <<

Vigil Games is planning a work fair in Austin for those affected, hopefully this will help you meet with people face to face.

When is it?

Thursday, April 5, 2012 – 10:00am – 2:00pm

Where is it?

River Place Country Club : 4207 River Place Blvd. Austin, Texas 78730

Link to the event: Vigil Games Work Fair

 

RECRUITERS

 

Person Company Email / Link / Twitter Name
Michelle Gallego Activision @gallego115
Lucy Philips Datascope lucy@datascope.co.uk
Christina Nichols Vicarious Visions cnichols@vvisions.com
Sharon Allen   sallen100@austin.rr.com
Andy Cheren Digital Artist Management andy@damagents.com
Michael Maxfield EA mmaxfield@ea.com
Michelle Rawicz EA mrawicz@ea.com
Michael Nichols THQ  Michael.nichols@thq.com
Aaran Pate Timegate pateaa@timegate.com
Elena-Veronica Popescu Ubisoft elena-veronica.popescu@ubisoft.com
Karl Teasdale Ubisoft karl.teasdale@ubisoft.com
Heather Holmes Ubisoft @hholmes79
Andrew Wilson Ubisoft @h1lson
Louise Selfe Gravity  louise@gravityrecruitment.com
Lindsey Raye Big Huge Games / 38 Studios http://www.facebook.com/superflylinz

 

PEOPLE

 

This is some of the direct people who’ve put their names forward as potential leads to new things:

 

Person Company Email / Link / Twitter Name
Adam Bromell Ubisoft adam.bromell@ubisoft.com
Bradley Kachel Ubisoft Bradley.kachel@ubisoft.com
Lenny Grossi Blizzard lgrossi@blizzard.com
Robert Bowling Ex-Infinity Ward @fourzerotwo
Si Donbavand Evolution Studios  si_donbavand@scee.net
Brandon Boldenow Backflip Studios bboldenow@backflipstudios.com
Howard Tang Sony Santa Monica htang57@gmail.com
Jonathan Hawkings Sony Santa Monica jonathan_hawkins@playstation.sony.com

 

COMPANIES

 

Company Link
Activision  
Riot Games http://www.riotgames.com/careers/job-openings-0
High Moon Studios http://activision.taleo.net/careersection/00003/jobsearch.ftl?lang=en&portal=8160110982     Andrew Zaferakis
Insomniac http://www.insomniacgames.com/careers/job-openings/
Kingsisle http://www.kingsisle.com/jobs
Irrational http://irrationalgames.com/studio/careers-at-irrational/
Rockstar https://www.rockstargames.com/jobs
Blizzard http://jobs.blizzard.com
Sony Santa Monica SonySMRecruiting@playstation.sony.com
Bungie http://www.bungie.net/Inside/aboutus.aspx
343 Industries http://www.microsoft-careers.com/go/343-Industries-Jobs/190537/?utm_source=jobfair&utm_campaign=343
Ready at Dawn http://www.readyatdawn.com/jobs.php
SpaceTime Studios http://www.spacetimestudios.com/content.php?119-Jobs
Timegate Studios http://timegatestudios.catsone.com/careers/
Spark Unlimited http://www.sparkunlimited.com/jobs_currentjobs.html
Moonspider http://www.moonspiderstudio.com/
Neversoft http://www.neversoft.com/hiring.html
Petroglyph http://petroglyphgames.com/careers
Naughty Dog jobs@naughtydog.com
Illfonic jobs@illfonic.com
Epic jobs@epicgames.com
Guerrilla Games http://www.guerrilla-games.com/jobs
Creative Assembly http://www.creative-assembly.com/jobs/
Sucker Punch http://www.suckerpunch.com/index.php?option=com_wrapper&view=wrapper&Itemid=91
PopCap http://www.popcap.com/job-opportunities
5th Cell http://www.5thcell.com/jobs/
Harmonix http://www.harmonixmusic.com/jobs
Junction Point http://www.disneycareers.com/en/search-jobs/advanced-search/
Zenimax http://jobs.zenimax.com/
Crystal Dynamics http://crystald.com/en/jobs.html
Bioware http://www.bioware.com/careers
Capcom https://uscareers-capcom.icims.com/jobs/intro?hashed=0
Respawn Entertainment http://www.respawn.com/careers/
Lucasarts https://www.lucasfilm.apply2jobs.com/ProfExt/index.cfm?fuseaction=mExternal.searchJobs