The Darksiders Wrap Party


Friday night saw all of us Vigil Gamer’s head out to the Darksiders wrap party. The event was held at Speak Easy in the heart of our very Austin. It’s a nice, intimate but spacey place to have the event. The drinks were flowing, people were elated and just plain gushing with pride…the atmosphere was great.

Darksiders movies/trailers were being shown on the big projector screen in the main room, ending with the “BUY THIS GAME” video by XxBrodeoxX. A professional photographer nipped around the event taking snaps.

Partway through the night, a few of the team members got up on stage and talked about their feelings on the game, it’s release and about Vigil.

There was an internal video playing which featured THQ’s head Brian Farrell, along with other key THQ people who helped make the game possible….ending the video with a selection of the Darksiders team on the history of the game, pranks, final thoughts etc. it was a great video! I’m hoping we can release it to the public, its pretty funny and insightful.

Nearing the end of the night, I found the “Candid Photographer” area, which was basically a small booth where you could put on props and arse around in front of the camera…and with that, I’ve posted a selection of them, all taken by Trevor Ray (check his site out):

About Haydn Dalton

Creative Lead 30 Years Developing Games

5 Responses to “The Darksiders Wrap Party”

  1. Congrats on the game Haydn!! You guys did an incredible job, the game rocks super hard! My only gripe…I want to see more Joe Mad sketches!!! I can’t get enough of his concept art now that I have played the game I want to see all of his sketches for all the sick characters that populate the game.

  2. I’ll see if I can clear a few more concepts/sketches and get them on here. Hopefully, that’ll eleviate some of your “pain” 🙂

    I’ll see what I can do.

  3. Simply put Amazing. I loved the game from start to finish. The look and feel is epic and for sure this game is in my top 5 of all time. Thank you for all your work man. My only gripe is we have to wait 2 years for a second.

    There is going to be a second right?

  4. Congrats guys. The game turned out to be freaking fantastic. I really hope you all think about releasing an art book or at lease a making of :).

Leave a comment