Walking the Social Wastelands and the Abyss


I’ve only just began digging around the new Google+ info sharing, social network thing-a-ma-dingy, and I like it. I don’t think it feels like Facebook at all, it feels more like a super-buff version of Twitter. You can follow anyone’s “stream” (status updates) and then it’s completely up to the individual to filter what they share, and with whom they want to share it with.

Circles is a fancy word  for “groups”, but it’s really well done and easy to use. The interface is simple, and slick, and I especially like how you can  filter the things coming through your stream (i.e. just show me “family” or “friends” circle of steams).

My profile on Google+    https://plus.google.com/109670106555854190999/posts?hl=en

I’m going to spend some of my weekend delving more into G+, but I really do think Google have got something pretty sweet here, and if they can tie it deeper into their other web stalwarts; maps, gmail, search etc. it’s going to be unstoppable.

GAMING

Gaming-wise, I’m about 80% through Shadow of the Damned; some parts I love, others I hate. The one-touch death chase sequences where particularly annoying (yes, we did them in Darksiders too, but I think we had a clearer ruleset as-to-what is the right and wrong thing to do was). The humour is juvenile (fine by me) and there’s some genuinely laugh out loud moments. I should have this one wrapped up this weekend, then on to PORTAL 2, which I’m really looking forward to.

READING

I’m about a third through THE WAY OF SHADOWS by Brent Weeks. This book follows the exploits of a badass “Wetboy” aka Assassin, called Durzo Blint. I don’t want to give too much away, but it’s growing me more and more as read deeper into the book. If you like fantasy badassary, then this book is right up your street. I’d love to see this made into a film, it begs to be a great action movie.

DARKSIDERS II UPDATES

Darksiders II Cover Art

Quality Darksiders II Artwork

We have come to the end of the month-long Game Informer coverage of Darksiders II, and I must say that they did a bang-up quality of job of sharing the game with the public and their readers.

As for actual development, it’s going well and all fronts. Our production is accelerating and new parts of world we’ve blueroomed, are starting to be art’d up and are already looking like awesome places to explore. If you loved the world of Darksiders, you’re going to drown into a heavenly abyss after traversing the huge world of Darksiders II. We have a ton of visual variety, and lots of places to really explore which will help push our want to add credence to the “aventure” part of our genre’s moniker.

Loot is going to be a major addition to the sequel, and already, as we’re getting new pieces incorporated into the game, that extra level of “ability tinkering” and visual progression is going to make a major difference to the way people see and play the game. Some of Death’s visual combinations are going to stunning to look at, but will also bolster him in lots of cool ways.

Dust, Death’s crow just got it’s first major art pass and it looks great. I wish I could share this with you, but it’s not quite ready for prime time yet. Dust acts as Death’s guide and companion, giving the player clues and a means to never be lost in the game. Incorporating him has been a little tricky, but it’s going to be worth the effort.

In other news, Game Informer have also just released what their next cover game is, Bethesda’s DISHONORED:

GI's next game cover; Bethesda's DISHONORED

About Haydn Dalton

Creative Lead 30 Years Developing Games

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

