E3 2011 & Darksiders II


I’ve been struggling to sum up my time at E3 this year. It was a very mixed bag of ups-n-downs, all spiced with a hefty smack of bitterness.

Ever since E3 started, I always saw it as the Mecca of gaming; the place all game developers should go to display and share what they did best. A place where we could go to play each others titles, or at the very least, see the latest trailer of how things were coming along but, it’s all becoming harder and harder to just play the games you want to.

This year, as did last, turned out to be a big pile of smoke and mirrors. Most of the biggest titles had lines so huge, that you could easily spend two or more hours just waiting to get your hands on them. Even the ones due to be release in just a few months! So, if you stayed at E3 for 6 or 8 hours, you may get to play splay 2 or 3 big games, the ENTIRE DAY! Does nobody else think this is fu#$ing ridiculous?  I also heard that lines were so big at the Nintendo stand, that they’d be turning people away who had been there for hours nearing the end of the show. It’s sad.

Some flirted huge posters to draw you to their stand, I’m looking at you Asura’s Wrath, only to be told that it wasn’t on the shop floor to be played but, if I got a ticket earlier enough, I could stand in line for that they had to show behind closed doors. It all felt bloody tedious.

Let’s also ignore titles such as LAST GUARDIAN and the new METAL GEAR that didn’t make a showing, with or without a line or ticket. *sigh*

Of all the shows I’ve been to, I played the least amount  this year and, I had the most time to spend doing so. I don’t know what the answer is, but I’d love E3 to become more about seeing and playing the games, rather than waiting around for them.

I should say a quick shout out to SEGA & Avalanche Studios for Renegade Ops. A few of us got in a 4 player booth and played this for a while. It was good ole fashioned fun. Such great attention to detail, it reminded me of Commando/Speed Rumble meets SWIV.

In a more positive light, several things happened in and around E3 for Darksiders II:

Game Informer posted the interview they did with me (I suck at these things btw)

http://www.gameinformer.com/b/features/archive/2011/06/06/darksiders-ii-lead-designer-haydn-dalton-interview.aspx

Darksiders II was officially announced as a Wii U LAUNCH TITLE – FUCK YEAH!

http://www.facebook.com/notes/darksiders-thq/darksiders-ii-coming-to-wii-u/10150198767553568

Joe Mad drawing Death live at E3 on a UDraw tablet:

DARKSIDERS II POLL

I set up a poll on this site to see what people were interested in hearing more on, and, what they’d hope to hear about the game. Here are the results (rounded up or down to the closest %):

What you’d like to hear more about?

  • The Story (22%)
  • Death Specific Abilities (18%)
What you’d wish to have seen added to Darksiders II?
  • More Combat Elements (28%)
  • Co-Op (26%)
It’s interesting to see that people really want to know more about the story. In years gone by, this would’ve always scored lower, but motivation, emotion and setting are big draws, especially in larger games where people spend a lot of time within them.
I really thought Co-Op would’ve been the big “wish it had” point, but more combat elements edged in front. As Darksiders has always edged towards puzzle & adventure, this was another interesting turn out.
Thanks to everyone who voted, I really appreciate it. Polls are a great and simple way to gather the “feel” on things about a topic. Anyways, thanks again!
Random place to check out: AWESOME PEOPLE HANGING OUT
About Haydn Dalton

Creative Lead 30 Years Developing Games

One Response to “E3 2011 & Darksiders II”

  1. Aw, I’m kinda disappointed “The Larger World” didn’t win since it was one of my picks, but I’m still looking forward to the game~ xD

    Looking forward to hear more from you…! 😀

Leave a Reply

