Dead Space 2 & Webcam Upgrade


I'm playing this!

Playing Dead Space 2 for the first time last night was a good experience. The game felt just like I remembered it, and it sounded even better. The sound design in the game is so slick. The character foley, ambient and UI sounds etc. gel so well together. With a game based so heavily around “tension”, sound is an incredibly powerful tool, which the Visceral guys wield with skill, class and quality.

One of the things I must mention, is the execution of the “player training”. It’s paced well, fits perfectly with the environment/context plus it’s just plain fun. The only questionable choice within the “training” so far, was when I was forced to use the STASIS feature for the first time; you have to shoot an on-rushing creature, then, use it to get passed a broken door. I would’ve preferred to do the stasis training the other way around. Allowing the player to fail without Death is important; it’s only a minor gripe through.

GUI was a large strong point in Ds1, and this one merely refines the cool “3d interface” system they used on the first game. Again, it feels like context is a big part of the way this team works. I like it!

I’m at around 1hr 30mins on my save file I think, so still plenty of game to play yet.

WebCam Update

My new EYE IN THE SKY!

In other news, and not nearly as exciting, I picked up a new webcam today, the Logitech HD Pro Webcam C910. Full 1080p recording + 10 megapixel photos!  It was going cheap in Costco, and I’ve been looking to update my old one and….wow, what a huge difference to video chatting this has made. It makes me wonder if I should attempt a video blog. Mind you, I don’t want scare any young kids or confuse the older one’s with my ramblings…I’ll need to think further on that one.

About Haydn Dalton

Videogame Designer

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

