E3 On The Horizon


It has been a heavy month and it’s only going to get more hectic. E3 is on its way so we’re working on a demo for that, plus the game still needs to get done including any additional elements THQ need for marketing purposes.

Recently we all sat down and watched the latest STORY TRAILER for the game…and wow, what  a great reaction we got from the team. They all clapped and cheered, people saying that the hairs on their neck stood on end, others were just shocked at how much they’d never seen before.

It’s easy to forget the whole picture when you’re working on your own slither of the game, but coming together as a company and as a team to see things like this really drive things home. The one thing that I did like about the trailer was that it was made up, pretty much entirely, from in-game assets, rather than lots of CGI scenes. I think the public will get to see it in a couple of weeks, so I hope you like it too..there’s plenty to see, and if you keep your eyes peeled, you’ll get a taste of the sheer volume of variety, Darksiders has to offer.

I also got a look at the E3 banners on Friday and they look pretty decent. Can’t wait to see those things spread around the THQ stand come June 2 – 4!

On a slightly related note, one thing that does concern me though is my sheer lack of good media skills. As a Lead Designer on a big title these days, people like to interview you in front of a camera, or get you on stage in front of a lot of people…that’s not me..I try and steer clear of it all. I know I should be better at it, but that’s just me I guess. Luckily, we do have some great peeps who work well in front of the media, and I know they’ll do a great job as things start to escalate around the project…so we’ve got that covered.

Not sure if I’ll be at E3 this year, I’ll probably be busy at work, watching the whole thing from afar. One thing I do love about E3 is when I have a title there, I walk around the people playing the game, it’s good, honest feedback on the spot.

About Haydn Dalton

Creative Lead 30 Years Developing Games

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

